1930- Farabi Eye Hospital was founded by professor Mohammad Qoli Shams who eradicated the trachoma as the major cause of blindness in the South of Iran, performed the first corneal graft operation in 1934, established the Iranian Society of Ophthalmology in 1947, and founded the first eye journal in Iran in 1968.

1980- The building later came to be called Farabi Teaching Hospital and in 1980, all its surrounding land (with the area of 100.000 m2) was turned over to Tehran University of Medical Sciences (TUMS). The new building with the area of 23000 m2 opened in several years later and added to the old buildings. The hospital was once the nation’s only ophthalmology hospital and a major ophthalmic-academic center, and is still one of the biggest and highly equipped centers for treating eye diseases in the Middle East.

  • Cataract Surgery (Phacoemulsification/ lensectomy + IOL implantation)
  • Phakic IOL implantation
  • Combined procedure (Phaco + Trabeculectomy)
  • Pterygium surgery (with amniotic membrane)
  • Corneal Transplantation
  • Femtosecond LASIK
  • Triple procedure (transplant, cataract extraction, IOL implantation)
  • PRK Surgery
  • Blepharoplasty
  • Dacryocystorhinostomy
  • Ptosis Surgery (Drooping Eyelid Surgery)
  • ¬†Retinal Detachment Surgery (scleral buckling)

Leave a Comment